FREE TRANSLATION - NO RIGHT CAN BE DERIVED FROM THIS

Original website: https://sif-gid.ibz.be/NL/deel 1.aspx

Part I: Common list of third countries of which nationals have to be in possession of an airport transit visa when in the international transit zone of airports on the territory of member states:

Afghanistan	Bangladesh
Democratic Republic of Congo	Eritrea
Ethiopia	Ghana
Iran	Iraq
Nigeria	Pakistan
Somalia	Sri Lanka

The obligation for nationals of the above mentioned states to be in possession of an airport transit visa applies to all types of travel documents (ordinary passports, service passports, special passports, ...) with the **exception** of the following categories which are exempt from the obligation of a visa:

- 1. Holders of a valid uniform visa, valid national visa for long stay or valid residence permit issued by a member state.
- 2. Nationals of third countries who are in possession of a valid residence permit issued by Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino or the United States of America which guarantees the unconditional right of entry to the bearer (see here for list of documents)
- 3. Those in possession of a valid visa issued by:
 - a. one of the member states or an EER-member state (this includes the non-Schengen EU member states: Cyprus, Bulgaria, Ireland and Romania)
 - b. Canada, Japan or the United States of America

This includes people returning from the above countries after having used said visa.

- 4. Family members of citizens of the European Union
- 5. Holder of diplomatic passports
- 6. Aircrew who are nationals of a state which is party to the Treaty of Chicago regarding Civil Aviation

Part II: Common list of third countries which are obliged to have a visa for some member states

With the exception of service and special passports issued by the following countries, those holding a passport of the following countries are <u>also required to have a Visa A for transit through Belgium</u>:

Angola, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Nepal, Sudan, Syria and South-Sudan

The same exceptions as mentioned above are applied.

For a complete list of those countries under Part II click here.

Any questions related to this should be directed to the relevant Immigration Authorities