What does this mean?

This means that from 25 November 2024, nationals of the Central African Republic, Chad, Mauritania and Senegal will need an airport transit visa to transit at airports (through the international zone) in the Netherlands to a destination outside the Schengen area.

Nationals of the Central African Republic, Chad, Mauritania and Senegal are exempt from the airport transit visa requirement if they:

- hold a valid visa or residence permit issued by a Schengen state;
- hold a valid Caribbean visa or residence permit for one or more of the overseas countries and territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Curaçao, Sint-Maarten, Bonaire, Sint-Eustatius and Saba);
- hold a valid visa for a Member State of the European Union or the European Economic Area,
 Canada, Japan or the United States;
- hold a valid residence permit issued by a Member State of the European Union or the European Economic Area;
- hold a residence permit issued by the Principality of Andorra, Canada, Japan, the Republic of San Marino or the United States guaranteeing an unrestricted right of return;
- are a family member of an EU, EEA or Swiss citizen or a family member of a UK citizen who is a beneficiary of the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement;
- hold a UK Biometric Residence Permit (BRP) (for citizens of non-EU countries);
- holders of diplomatic, service or special passports;
- cabin or cockpit crew and nationals of a country party to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation.

Persons already travelling

Persons who are already travelling and who will need an ATV for their journey back to their home country can still apply for a transit visa outside the country of spending residence. They can submit a visa application for an airport transit visa at the visa center of the country where they are legally residing.

In case there are questions on whether or not you require an Airport Transit Visa, please check the visa advisor website.